Finding an Epat apartment in Bangkok

If you have secured a teaching job before you arrive in Thailand (depending on which company you chose) you tend to already have a hotel or B&B organised for you when you arrive. It is nearly impossible to find a rental apartment in Bangkok on the internet. Especially if you don’t speak or read Thai. The school I worked at gave me a list of apartments to look at but the majority of them were really rundown.

Finding a place to live

Fun Language provide accommodation to English teachers on their website.

Rental prices range from 4,500- 12,000 baht and two months rental deposit up front is the norm.I visited five apartments on the Fun Language website but I managed to find accommodation by myself through networking with others.

My apartment is located within ten minutes walking distance from Saphan Khwai BTS station and a further 15 minutes to Fun Language Bangkok Office. It is perfectly located right down the road from the Chatuchak Weekend Market.

 

Life @ Phaholyothin 18, Condominium Ladyao, Jatujak, Bangkok, 10900

 

 

Price: 11,000 baht per month (small) or 14,000 baht per month (large) and two months rent up front (deposit). Rent doesn’t include all bills.

Electricity and water bills: Monthly water bills can be paid at any 7Eleven, make sure you keep your receipt as evidence of payment. If you do not have a Thai bank account you can pay rent to your landlord directly at their Thai Bank.

There is no WIFI connection in the apartment. There is WIFI downstairs in the lobby (but it is slow and unreliable). In order to have access to WIFI in your apartment I was advised to find my own internet provider. I was recommended to try True as an internet provider for my area but there are other internet providers available in Thailand http://trueonline.truecorp.co.th/.

If you are interested in renting or buying a property in Bangkok here is the website that advertises in my apartment block: http://www.thebkkresidence.com/

When I first moved in I was shown the property by a real estate consultant at The BKK Residence. My consultant drew up the contract and is my main point of contact. There is no contact with the landlord.

 

Leave a Reply

